Premiere: Tetsumasa – Izumo


Tetsumasa is a Berlin-based experimental Japanese electronic music producer originally from Nagoya City, a place known for extravagant weddings, miso cutlets and a gaudy castle.

Possessing a sonic signature informed by a kitchen sink of genres (glitch, downtempo, dub, industrial and bass music), he’s been building a discography of forward-thinking left-of-center productions for the past few years.

This month Tetsumasa will release the On the Way EP via his SAIDAN (which means alter in Japanese) label. We’re thrilled to world premiere the bottom-heavy cut “Izumo,” a glitchy romp that takes its name from the city on Japan’s Honshu Island.

Unlike tracks in his milieu that gravitate toward grim/dystopian/apocalyptic themes, “Izumo” is refreshingly optimistic. The instrumental comes to life on a ghostly soundscape of stunning sub-bass, airy pads and helium vocals. It’s urged on by a stern kick drum that packs quite a wallop.

Get a first listen to “Izumo” below, and pick up the On the Way EP (which features a remix by Foodman) on January 23.

No paywalls, free to all. Help us remain 100% independent and unbiased. Please give to Big Shot by making a secure one-time donation to help us continue covering DJ culture and electronic music like we’ve done since 2003.

Premiere: Chasing Kurt – Mad Man In A Haze


Simon’s Hedonism Music continues its winning ways with Amsterdam Essentials Vol. 1, a compilation of fresh tracks and mixes by artists including Florian Kruse, Betoko and the label boss himself. We’re pleased to world premiere deep-house doyens Chasing Kurt who make their Hedonism Music debut with “Mad Man In A Haze” featured on the compilation. Chasing Kurt’s career got a leg up after Maya Jane Coles included their early track “Money” on her DJ Kicks release. Since then they’ve released an album on German label Suol called From The Inside,  received Pete Tong’s “Future Stars” stamp of approval and have played live at clubs and festivals from Berlin to Istanbul. Listen to their smoldering vocal track below and check out the compilation out now.

Premiere: Congellous – Awaken From The Sleep


Once deeply embedded in the world of nu school breaks, Stanley T Jones, who formerly recorded under the aliases Orange Kush and Jaguar, has evolved his musical POV in recent years. Of his upcoming Sputnik 2 EP produced under the auspices of his housier Congellous moniker, he says, “The idea with Sputnik EP was to simply create some retro flavored dance music, but bringing it up to date with a twist of current musical influences.” Take a listen to the bubbling uptempo gem “Awaken From The Sleep” from the EP — which was notably mixed down on an authentic 1970’s Neve desk — out November 6 on Soba Records.

Premiere: Seward – Sweet Kick (Ash Walker Remix)


On their third album, Second Two: Chapter Home, Barcelona band Seward — Pablo (synths, effects and guitar), Adriano (vocals), Jordi (bass) and Juan (drums) — create eclectic gonzo music with a twist. Prone to adding a wrinkle to everything they do, they group celebrated the release of their new LP by playing seven shows in 24 hours in their hometown. The Catalan quartet put album track “Sweet Kick” in the talented hands of London producer Ash Walker, and the results are absolutely stunning. Walker reimagines the song into a gorgeous instrumental complete with delicate guitar and piano melodies alongside shimmering percussion. He gradually builds the tempo and in what is undoubtedly a career-defining remix. Get a first listen to the cinematic remix below, and check the four-piece’s full-length out now on Naim Records.