Drum ‘n’ Bass Dons Calyx & TeeBee Ready ‘FABRICLIVE 76’

Calyx & TeeBee FABRICLIVE 76

Veteran drum ‘n’ bass duo Calyx & TeeBee (check out their 2012 Big Shot Guest Mix) will mix FABRICLIVE 76. Set for release on July 21, the 34-track collection is overflowing with upfront tunes and classics from the likes of Break, Calibre, Optical and Blu Mar Ten. Calyx & TeeBee will play a launch party at Fabric with a two-hour set on August 8 along with Hazard, Break, Culture Shock, Hybris and Frankee, with MCs AD, GQ and SP:MC with Butterz in the club’s Room 1.

Obligatory press release gush from Calyx & TeeBee: “We recorded the mix using 3 CDJs. We spent a long time considering the selection and how we wanted the journey to evolve – we wanted it to reflect what we love both inside and outside of the club environment. We’re really happy with the ebb and flow of the mix, which in turn is down to the countless producers making some sublime and immensely varied drum & bass we’re into at the moment.”

Tracklisting for FABRICLIVE 76:

1. Friction & Skream feat. Scrufizzer, P Money & Riko Dan – Kingpin (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) (Shogun Audio)
2. Gridlok & Prolix – Revenge (Project Trendkill)
3. Calyx & TeeBee – Skank (Ram)
4. Xtrah – Compulsive (unreleased)
5. Ulterior Motive – 2098 (Subtitles)
6. Calibre – Instant (Signature)
7. TeeBee – Human Reptile (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) (Subtitles)
8. Break – Duck For Cover (Symmetry)
9. NC17 & KC – Slimeville (Symmetry)
10. Nasty Habits – Shadow Boxing (Om Unit Remix) (ThirtyOne)
11. Calyx & TeeBee feat. Kemo – Pure Gold (Ram)
12. Gridlok & Prolix – Riot VIP (Project Trendkill)
13. The Prototypes – Pale Blue Dot (Viper)
14. Teddy Killerz – Demolisher (Subtitles)
15. Chris.SU – Solaris VIP (Subtitles)
16. Break – Kill Dem (Symmetry)
17. Syron – Here (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) (Ministry of Sound)
18. Michael Woods feat. Ester Dean – We’ve Only Just Begun (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) (Ministry of Sound)
19. Break – Tempted (Symmetry)
20. Noisia & Calyx & TeeBee – Hyenas (Visions)
21. Teddy Killerz – New Drums VIP (Bad Taste)
22. Hidden Turn feat. Azaco – Time (ThirtyOne)
23. Blu Mar Ten feat. Agné Genyté – Break It All Apart (Break Remix) (Blu Mar Ten)
24. Break & DLR – New Design (Symmetry)
25. Calyx & TeeBee – Strung Out VIP (Ram)
26. Arp XP – Five Black Forms (Hybris Remix) (Authentic)
27. Teddy Killerz & Brain Crisis – Local 2 (Subtitles)
28. Brain Crisis – Hands Up (Subtitles)
29. Bricky Mortar – Salford John (Dub Phizix Remix) (unreleased)
30. Optical – The Shining (Ed Rush & Optical Remix) (Metro)
31. Teddy Killerz – Off World (Bad Taste)
32. Fierce/Optiv – Surface Noise (Quarantine)
33. Kemal & Rob Data – Star Trails (Audio Blueprint)
34. Calyx & TeeBee – Elevate This Sound (Ram)

Daniel Avery Launching ‘Divided Love’ Residency at Fabric

Daniel Avery

Rising UK DJ/producer Daniel Avery will begin a residency at Fabric in London this summer. Dubbed Divided Love, Avery will bring his mixing magic to the esteemed nightspot beginning August 15. The bill will feature three rooms of talent. Room one will present Factory Floor (live), Dopplereffekt (Live), Helena Hauff andVolte-Face (BleeD); room two will feature Machinedrum (DJ set), dBridge, Consequence, Skeptical, Stray, Kid Drama MCs: SP:MC; and room three is TBA.

Avery’s association with Fabric dates back to 2007. In addition to playing the venue, he mixed 2012’s Fabriclive 66 before going on to release music on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sound. Fans eager to see Avery are well advised to see him in August as the next edition of his Divided Love residency won’t take place until November 14.

Obligatory press release gush from Mr. Avery: “Fabric is my home and I’m proud to be a resident. The club has been with me from the beginning so starting my own night there feels genuinely exciting. Divided Love will be about presenting acts who are doing something special… sonic souls, faith affirmers, music for the mind… The lineup for the first event is a perfect summary of what I want the night to be about,” he continues. “Factory Floor, the best live band in the world right now, legendary dystopian electro heads Dopplereffekt, Golden Pudel resident and acid machine Helena Hauff plus BleeD’s main man Volte-Face on warm-up duties.”

Top image via Facebook


Dusky Launch Label, Ready North American Tour

17 Steps Records logo

Rising London duo Dusky — Nick Harriman and Alfie Granger-Howell — have announced that they have formed a new label, 17 Steps. Tapping their interest in retro and contemporary sounds, the pair say 17 Steps will represent their varied musical taste. The twosome’s Love Taking Over EP out on July 14 will serve as the label’s first release. No word yet on future releases, or when they’ll release the follow-up to their acclaimed 2011 album Stick By This issued on Anjunadeep.

Obligatory press release gush from Dusky: “Over the last few years our identity as artists has continued to grow and crystallise into something we never envisaged possible. The introduction of 17 Steps feels like a natural phase in our development, and a logical move that enables us to take more control of our musical identity and provide a platform for music by other artists that we believe in.”

Dusky will embark on a lengthy North American tour beginning June 12 to promote the new EP. Dates are as follows:

Thursday 12th June
SAT, Montreal

Friday 13th June
Webster Hall, New York

Saturday 14th June
Story, Miami

Thursday 19th June
Q, Seattle

Friday 20th June
Shine, Vancouver

Saturday 21st June
Starlite Room, Edmonton

Sunday 22nd June
EDC, Las Vegas

Wednesday 25th June
HiFi, Calgary

Thursday 26th June
Electric Forest Festival, Michigan

Friday 1 August ­
Kingdom, Austin

Saturday 2 August ­
Hard LA, USA

Saturday 2 August
Exchange (Hard After­Party), LA

Sony Music Releasing Rave Era ‘Warehouse Anthems’ Compilation

Sony Music Warehouse Anthems

Break out the glowsticks because Sony Music will release Warehouse Anthems, a sprawling 3CD compilation of ’80s and ’90s rave era, on April 21. The collection features some of the period’s biggest tunes by The Prodigy, The Future Sound of London, 4 Hero, LFO and Opus III. Altern 8’s seminal anthem “Evapor 8” is also included, along with liner notes by the influential duo’s Mark Archer. Writes Archer, “This album serves as brilliant insight into one of the greatest musical movements of the past 30 years – and will no doubt bring the memories flooding back for everyone who was there.” Full tracklisting for Warehouse Anthems is below.

Continue Reading