Battles are Back with New Album and Mini-Doc


The band that blends techno, post-rock, and roguish experimentalism is making a mighty return. Battles, the trio that tramples over musical borders with impunity, is getting set to release its first album since 2011’s Gloss Drop. On September 18, Warp Records will unleash the band’s third album, La Di Da Di. A world tour that begins in Sicily on August 7 and doesn’t wrap up until the trio hits Reykjavik on November 7 is on its way as well. But in advance of all that, Battles is bringing us a little multimedia action in the form of a 17-minute video documentary that brings you inside the band’s world in an intimate way.

Battles: The Art of Repetition, directed by John Carluccio, will whet your appetite for both the new album and the tour by taking you everywhere the group goes. Over the course of the doc, you journey inside the recording studio with Ian Williams, John Stanier, and Dave Konopka, into the rehearsal studio as they work out their tracks together, and on stage, where their syncretic sound comes together in front of an enthusiastic audience. While you’re waiting for La Di Da Di and the gigs that go along with it, you can get a good, healthy dose of Battles from The Art of Repetition.

Stream “Hawkmoth” From Plaid’s Oddly Titled ‘Reachy Prints’ Dropping in May


Veteran London electronic music duo Plaid have announced the release of their tenth album, Reachy Prints. Following up 2011’s Scintilli, the album due out on May 20 on Warp Records finds musical partners Andy Turner and Ed Handley offering up nine new tracks. According to the duo’s website, they will be performing select live dates in London beginning at the end of the month. As for the title of the album, they offered no context but were gracious enough to post a stream of the album’s second track, “Hawkmoth” (see below).

Tracklisting for Reachy Prints

1. OH
2. Hawkmoth
3. Nafovanny
4. Slam
5. Wallet
6. Matin Lunaire
7. Tether
8. Ropen
9. Liverpool St

For Those About to (Electro) Rock: We Salute PVT

PVT band pic

Australian experimental electro-rock band PVT, formerly signed to Warp Records who are now with the Brooklyn label Felte Sounds, have recently released their fourth album, Homosapien. Drummer Laurence Pike spoke with us via Skype about a range of topics at the end of the band’s recent Australian tour.
Continue Reading