Robert Hood: Summer Tour and ADE Appearance


With three decades of music-making in the rearview mirror, Detroit minimal techno trailblazer Robert Hood has assembled a voluminous body of work. But like any true artist, Hood is interested in pushing forward, not looking back. So while his long-established M-Plant label spent last year reissuing some of the highlights from his past, Hood has got a fierce flurry of activity on the way over the coming months.

For one thing, Hood will be a keynote speaker at this year’s Amsterdam Dance Event, which runs from Oct 14-18, 2015. He’ll be participating in two separate sessions there — one where he’ll talk about what fuels his creative spirit, and another in which he’ll be joined by the people who help make it all happen behind the scenes (managers, agents, etc.), offering a valuable peek behind the curtain. But in advance of those appearances, Hood will also be storming stages across the globe on a 26-date summer tour that will bring his brand of techno everywhere from Israel to Ibiza. Continue Reading

Detroit Techno Legend Robert Hood to Release Career-Spanning Compilation

Robert-35 by Marie Staggat

Robert Hood will be releasing M-Print: 20 Years of M-Plant, a three-disc compilation spanning his two decades behind the M-Plant label. With M-Plant, Hood has revolutionized and helped reinvent Detroit techno, and this compilation is set to be the definitive summation of his evolution through the imprint. M-Print spans Hood’s various incarnations including his work under his Monobox and Floorplan monikers, and will feature classic M-Plant releases, re-edits and previously unreleased tracks.

Disc one explores Hood’s early years on the label during his minimal period, in a set that features favorites like “Minimal Nation,” “Moveable Parts 1 & 2,” “Internal Empire” and “The Protein Valve.” Disc two focuses on M-Plant tracks of the past five years where his Floorplan alias re-emerged in a new form that pulled in his funk, disco and soul influences, while keeping his techno roots in check. Disc three will feature a mixture of both new and unreleased tracks as well as a selection of remixes, pulling together M-Plant’s past and future.

M-Plant is more than a compilation,” says Hood of the release. “I wanted it to flow like a river of living water instead of just a flashback. It represents the unfolding of a dream. It represents passion and determination to make something out of nothing. It’s like planting a seed in the ground and watching it grow over time into a beautiful tree.”

M-Print: 20 Years of M-Plant is out on December 8 on M-Plant. Check out the track listing below.


  1. The Grey Area (Moveable Parts Chapter 2, 1997)
  2. Untitled 1 (Moveable Parts Chapter 1, 1995)
  3. The Rhythm of Vision (Minimal Nation, 1994)
  4. Protein Valve 1 (The Protein Valve, 1994)
  5. Stereotype (Stereotype, 1998)
  6. Realm (as ‘Monobox’ – Realm, 1996)
  7. The Pace (Minimal Nation, 1994)
  8. Untitled Sketch (Moveable Parts Chapter 1, 1995)
  9. Unix (Minimal Nation, 1994)
  10. Minus (Internal Empire, 1994)
  11. The Greatest Dancer (The Greatest Dancer, 2001)


  1. Dancer (Remix) (unreleased)
  2. Power To Prophet (Power to Prophet, 2010)
  3. We Magnify His Name (as ‘Floorplan’ – Sanctified, 2010)
  4. Superman (Superman/Range, 2009)
  5. Alpha (Alpha/Omega, 2010)
  6. Eleven (Eleven/Alarm, 2011)
  7. Baby, Baby (as ‘Floorplan’ – Sanctified, 2011)
  8. The Family (Alpha/The Family, 2011)
  9. Range (Superman/Range, 2009)
  10. Never Grow Old (as ‘Floorplan’ Paradise, 2013)


  1. Exturnus Oblique (Re-Plant) (previously unreleased mix)
  2. A.M. Track (The Protein Valve 1, 1994)
  3. Arrows (edit) (unreleased)
  4. Untitled 4 (Moveable Parts Chapter 1, 1995)
  5. Monkey (unreleased)
  6. The Family (Re-Plant) (previously unreleased mix)
  7. Minus (edit) (previously unreleased mix)
  8. Analog Track (Ghost) (exclusive to Perpetual Masters: Protein Valve EP, 2014)
  9. Who Taught You Math (Alt. Mix) (previously unreleased mix)
  10. Protein Valve 1 (Re-Plant) (Protein Valve Edits EP, 2014)
  11. Full Armor (unreleased)
  12. Minimal Minded (unreleased)