Download: Giana Factory’s “Lemon Moon” Produced by Trentemøller

Gina Factory

Nearly a year ago we talked to Anders Trentemøller about his musical evolution that’s taken him away from the DJ booth and placed him in front of audiences backed by a full band. Trentemøller, who met female triumvirate Giana Factory  in 2011 when he remixed a track on their Save the Youth album for their seven-inch vinyl series, continues pushing the creative envelope by producing Danish trio’s “Lemon Moon.” Formed in 2008 and featuring Loui Foo (vocals and drum pads), Sofie Johanne (bass and synths) and Lisbet Fritze (guitar), the song exudes an icy signature rooted in washes of gorgeous synth lines. The song hints at the Trentemøller-produced tracks appearing on their second album out on May 30.

“We came to Anders’ studio with a bunch of demos, and finished writing the songs while we were in the studio with him,” the tell us exclusively about how the recorded with Trentemøller. “We split the studio into three working spaces, and Anders was mixing in one room while we were recording and writing vocals in second room and making up bass/guitar parts in third room. It was a very efficient process and there was a very vibrant and lively feeling in the studio. Anders was nothing less than amazing to collaborate with. He definitely knows how to make something sound good. And he has such a good sense of rhythm and dynamics. He is very dedicated and passionate with music. He contributed a lot to the album in helping us make important decisions like trusting some of the the songs pretty much as they were in the demo versions, or with other songs he would make suggestions on how to cut to the core of what the songs should be and came with suggestions on how to get there. We killed some darlings and made space for what was essential. It was also really good with an outside eye on the overall flow of the album.”

In the meantime, a track that’s cooler than “Lemon Moon” will be most difficult to find.

Download of the Day: Eli & Fur – “Like The Way” (Original Mix)

eli & fur

Emerging London-based DJ duo Eli & Fur are a pair to keep your eyes on this summer. After the success of last year’s “Sea of Stars” and their follow-up “Tonight,” which sported a nifty remix crafted by Jimmy Edgar, these ladies take their slinky house musings to the next level with “Like the Way.” Their blissed-out vocals on the track — which they are graciously giving away for free — are the perfect match for their uptempo grooves, making this one into a peak time summer anthem best enjoyed at a raging beach party. Download and enjoy.

Download Guy Gerber’s ‘Who’s Stalking Who?’ LP For Free (With His Permission)


2013 is shaping up to be quite an excellent year for Guy Gerber. The Tel Aviv-based DJ/producer has taken on Ibiza with his Wisdom of the Glove Wednesday party at Pacha, and he’s been pushing his sound forward in a big way. Today Gerber dropped a free album — not a DJ mix or EP, an album – on his SoundCloud, and it’s deliriously good. The album features 11 slinky tracks and captures the vibe of his night on the White Isle featuring notable guests like Four Tet, Jamie XX and Mathew Jonson to close friends like dOP, Shaun Reeves and Bill Patrick. Props to Gerber for rewriting the rules for Ibiza and putting the music first and foremost.

Who’s Stalking Who? Tracklist

1. One Arm Man Blues (Intro) 00:31
2. The Night of the Glove 08:56
3. I Never Wandered Where Your Heart Beats 04:02
4. Disorientation (2013 Version) 04:06
5. 25 Stitches 04:54
6. Can I Borrow Your Knife 06:10
7. Sign Of The Times 04:40
8. Who’s Stalking Who? 05:52
9. Chaim- Blue Shadows (GG White Isle Remake) 08:47
10. Irma and Lynda Bang The Drums 05:52
11. Run Herman, Run (Outro) 02:06

Download: Tricky feat. Francesca Belmonte – “Tribal Drums”


After announcing the release of his upcoming album False Idols in February and giving away the splendid single “Nothing’s Changed,” Tricky drops another free track to his fans’ delight. “Tribal Drums” features vocalist Francesca Belmonte, who also appears on “Does It” and the aforementioned “Nothing’s Changed.” The song features Tricky trademark vocal style that’s complimented by Belmonte’s effortless voice, all done over a wickedly subtle midtempo groove. Grab the track below and be sure to keep the album on your radar when it’s released on May 27.
Continue Reading