Deetron’s ‘Fabric 76’ Due June 16


Swiss DJ/producer Deetron (a.k.a. Sam Geiser) has mixed the next installment of Fabric’s long-running and reliable DJ mix series. Fabric 76 comes a year after the release of Mind Over Matter, which was one of our favorite albums of 2013. The 28-track mix compilation features tracks from DJ Sneak, Seven Davis Jr, Caribou and Four Tet & Terror Danjah. Obligatory press release gush from Geiser: “I basically followed the pleasure principle when approaching the mix. I started to pick my favourite pieces of dance music regardless of age or sub-genre and didn’t really begin to structure the mix until all the tracks had been cleared, except for one. So as I began to throw the tracks together as spontaneously as possible, the structure of the mix began to take shape. I did a single take before I recorded the final version of the mix as it is now in order to keep it as lively and representative of a live DJ set as possible. I don’t think I’ve enjoyed myself as much working on a mix in the studio before!”

Fabric 76‘s Tracklisting

01 Johnny Blas – Picadillo (Carl Craig’s Breakdown Version) (Ubiquity)
02 Jaime Read – Timewave (Fragmented)
03 Baba Stiltz – Palats (Studio Barnhus)
04 SoulPhiction – Mind & Body (Philpot)
05 DJ Sneak – Who’s Knocking (Magnetic)
06 Juxta Position – Mercy (Misstress)
07 Redshape – Finizh (Running Back)
08 Ripperton – Searchin 4 You (Tamed Musiq)
09 Greg Beato – Who’s The Licho In Charge Ovaa Here (Apron)
10 Tom Trago – Elite (Rush Hour)
11 Seven Davis Jr. – One (Must Have Records)
12 Galaxy 2 Galaxy – Timeline (Underground Resistance)
13 Afefe Iku feat. Osunlade – Bodydrummin (Yoruba)
14 Marquis Hawkes – Honey Kisses (Dixon Avenue Basement Jams)
15 Gemini – New Style Of (Peacefrog)
16 Presk – Rais (Ten Thousand Yen)
17 Ondo Fudd – There Will Be A Time (The Trilogy Tapes)
18 Four Tet & Terror Danjah – Nasty (Text)
19 Seiji – More Of You (Seijimusic)
20 E-Dancer – The Move (KMS)
21 Moderat – Bad Kingdom (Marcel Dettmann Remix) (50WEAPONS)
22 Caribou – Irene (City Slang)
23 Joe – Slope (Hessle Audio)
24 Atoms For Peace – Before Your Very Eyes… (XL)
25 Function – Falling The Same Way (Dommune Version) (Sandwell District)
26 Design A Wave – Weird F (No ‘Label’)
27 Juxta Position – Mercy (Loop) (Misstress)
28 Nils Frahm – Says (Erased Tapes)

Album Review: Deetron / ‘Music Over Matter’ (Music Man)



A house network providing a little bit of everything, and rarely disappointing whatever mood you’re in. Vocal numbers, funky muscle, regeneration of prototypes, electro-pop gateways and deep house settlements with an additional filtered disco plug, make simple a potentially oversubscribed mix and match.

This is after initially allowing image conscious tracks through the same gate as uptown grooves. The former naturally chafing against the roll of the latter, become easily ignorable as you get to the album’s warm core, Deetron’s sequencing getting them out the way early as simple means of demoing his repertoire. As his ego is reined in at the point of the Hercules & Love Affair feature “Crave,” attempts at edginess pass without incident, both to the detriment and benefit of the LP. The Seth Troxler writhe “Love Song” jostles in the same position, saved by expertly throwing back acid forwards. Either way, both are scolded by the spiritual “Bright City Lights.”

“Sing” will take you to rooftops so you can broadcast its praises, and “Can’t Love You More” will fly when rays are on its back. “Starblazer” deserves upgrading from ‘only’ being the bonus track with a tough bump and hustle; overall, strong songwriting and vocals from dons, divas and crowd pleasers aside, the dance floor isn’t really treated to anything out of the ordinary. Yet with Deetron keeping the basics strong and trad values topped up for sun worshippers and graveyard shifters, treated it most definitely is.

File under: Subb-An, Steven Tang, The Shapeshifters