Ratatat Returns with ‘Magnifique’ LP

ratatat magnifique

Those who have been keeping track and realizing that it’s been five years now since the last Ratatat album, LP4, may have been wondering when the New York duo would be laying another LP on us. That time has arrived. Of course, if you’ve been paying close attention, you’re probably already aware that the pair recently dropped a new single, “Cream on Chrome,” a song that was introduced to the world at large when Ratatat played Coachella 2015. But now the fire of hope that was lit in the hearts of Ratatat fans by that song has risen to a four-alarmer with the announcement of the group’s forthcoming fifth album.

Magnifique is set for a July 17, 2015 release on XL Recordings, and you can catch a quirky teaser video for it here. The clip, however entertaining, admittedly won’t give you much of an idea what the record will actually sound like, but as “Cream on Chrome” indicates, Evan Mast and Mike Stroud are back to doing what they doing best, blending rhythmic guitar lines with sleek synth riffs for a propulsive sound that blends the best of dance music and indie rock.

In addition to absorbing the album when it arrives, you can see them tackle their new tunes in the flesh this summer, when they hit major events like Primavera Sound, Governor’s Ball, Capital Hill Block Party, HARD Summer, and more.

Magnifique track list

  1. Intro
  2. Cream on Chrome
  3. Magnifique
  4. Abrasive
  5. Countach
  6. Drift
  7. Pricks Of Brightness
  8. Nightclub Amnesia
  9. Cold Fingers
  10. Supreme
  11. Rome
  12. Primetime
  13. I Will Return
  14. Outro

Premiere: Dirtwire – “Rollin'”


Oakland, CA-based electro-acoustic duo Dirtwire is a musical vehicle helmed by David Satori of Beats Antique and Evan Fraser of Stellamara. A project that juxtaposes electronics with acoustic instrumentation, their forward-thinking sound flips the norm on its ear and presents a litany of new musical possibilities.

Fresh from recent appearances at Coachella and Lucidity festivals (see their upcoming tour dates below), the duo will issue their RipTide full-length on May 12, 2015.

We’re thrilled to world premiere “Rollin'” from the Bay Area twosome’s album, a bluesy, soulful offering that we’ll guarantee sounds like nothing you’ve ever heard before.

Dirtwire’s RipTide is released May 12, 2015 on Beats Antique Records.

Dirtwire – 2015 RipTide Tour

May 28 – Mezzanine – San Francisco, CA
May 29 – The Boardwalk – Orangevale, CA
May 30 – Venue TBA – Santa Cruz, CA
June 3 – The Brickroom – Ashland, OR
June 4 – HiFi Music Hall – Eugene, OR
June 5 – Crystal Ballroom – Portland, OR
June 6 – Venue TBA – Seattle, WA
June 7 – Wild Buffalo – Bellingham, WA
June 20 – Sonic Bloom Festival – Rye, CO

Coachella 2014 Will Feature Top-Notch DJs & Electronic Acts (Again)


The annual superfest Coachalla announced its 2014 lineup last night. OutKast, Muse and Arcade Fire will serve as headliners for the three-day event…but enough about that because this year’s roster of DJs and electronic acts looks pretty damn good.

April 13’s lineup includes The Knife, Zedd, Chromeo, The Glitch Mob, Hot Since 82, Gareth Emery, Damian Lazurus and others, while April 12’s roster includes Skrillex, Fatboy Slim, Netsky, Guy Gerber and Bicep. April 14 also looks inviting with featured acts Calvin Harris, Disclosure, Rudimental, Duck Sauce, Laurent Garnier, Art Department, Martinez Brothers and Scuba.

Check the full roster below!

2014 coachella lineup

Forget Coachella, Daft Punk Sign with Sony

Daft Punk

As rumors spread last week that Daft Punk were playing Cochella 2013 (they aren’t), the duo — Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter — must’ve been laughing their collective asses of as today it was revealed that the French duo have inked a worldwide deal with Sony. The signing comes after the company added Depeche Mode to its roster and finalized a deal earlier this week with Ultra Records. No word yet on when their fourth album will be released (rumor mill says it will be released in the spring), but what we do know is that famed Chic producer Nile Rodgers has worked on the as-yet unnamed full-length along with Giorgio Moroder, singer-songwriter Paul Williams, bassist Nathan East and Feist collaborator Chilly Gonzales. Daft Punk’s most recent album, recent full-length, Disney’s Tron: Legacy, was released in 2010. Last October they created a mix for Saint Laurent’s fashion show.

Stream: Pulp & James Murphy / “After You”

Pulp-James Murphy

English alt-rock gods Pulp have capped off their successful reunion year by issuing “After You” online at midnight on Christmas. The track was produced by James Murphy and arrives after he retired LCD Soundsystem last year. Since then Murphy has spent much of 2012 DJing and collaborating with Gorillaz and Andre 3000 on the one-off Converse single “DoYaThing.” According to Pitchfork, the band wrote the song over a decade ago, but the track remained unfinished until the reunited group recorded the song in London last month. Pulp played their most recent shows aboard the Coachella Cruise of the Caribbean, which ran from December 16 to December 23 and also featured sets from James Murphy. Pulp have no additional reunion dates lined up for 2013. Have a listen to the track below and tell us what you think.

Watch Thom Yorke DJ in Palm Springs [Video]

The second weekend of Coachella kicked off on Friday, and while things were heating up at the festival in Indio, CA, Radiohead’s Thom Yorke was DJing at a day party not too far away in Palm Springs at The Ace Hotel. In the video below, Yorke seems to be in the zone, throwing down a set of underground tunes while the crowd watches in awe. Yorke’s mixing skills ain’t half bad, either. Check out the clip below.