Video Premiere: Bostock – Midnight Sinner

Bostock Midnight Sinner video premiere

UK-based producer Bostock has just released a pair of emotive house tracks, “Remembrall” / “Midnight Sinner” via Big Love. Both sonic excursions are perfect for at-home listening or whenever after-hours parties return.

We’re extremely pleased to world premiere the music video for “Midnight Sinner.”

The video opens with slo-mo, pre-pandemic footage of people dancing on a packed dance floor. No social distancing! No masks! No cares in the world!

As the deep track unfurls, washes of blue and red lights bathe the club as strobe lights pierce through the darkness.  In the end, the video reminds us of good times past and better ones to come.

Hit the play button below and enjoy.

Premiere: Picard Brothers – It’s Not Over (Ateph Elidja Remix)

Picard Brothers

Picard Brothers, the up-and-coming Parisian producer/musician duo comprised of Clément Picard and Maxime Picard, are closing out the shitshow known as 2020 with a remix of Disclosure’s new track “Watch Your Step” featuring Kelis. They’ve also got a pair of remixes of their brand new ’90s-style house jam “It’s Not Over” out December 18 on Island.

We’re thrilled to world premiere Ateph Elidja’s pumping, funky-ass remix of the aforementioned track.

The brothers had this to say about Ateph’s interpretation: “He took the song and added his special black and white ultra-elegant style, real raw and sonically impeccable.”

Hit the play button below and enjoy.

Beatport Acquires Loopmasters

Beatport Acquires Loopmasters

Online music portal Beatport has acquired UK-based Loopmasters, a creator of royalty-free producer sample packs, and its two brands, Loopcloud and Plugin Boutique.

Financial details of the transaction were not made public.

Previously, Beatport began a partnership with Loopmasters in mid-2019.

Obligatory press release gush from Loopmasters founder Matt Pelling: “We have been very impressed by the power of the Beatport brand with the global DJ producer marketplace, and have thoroughly enjoyed working closely with the Beatport team over the past few years. Everyone at Loopmasters strongly believes that the combination of these two great companies will deliver an unparalleled, end-to-end content supply chain for music producers for many years to come.”

Obligatory press release gush from Robb McDaniels, CEO of Beatport: “Matt Pelling and the entire Loopmasters team are world-class people who have built amazing products for the producer community that simply belong in our ecosystem. The phenomenal growth of Plugin Boutique, the leading global seller of virtual instrument plug-ins, and the recent launch of Loopcloud, an innovative subscription service for the samples market, are a testament to the talent of their team, and we couldn’t be happier to welcome them to the Beatport family.”

No paywalls, free to all. Help us remain 100% independent and unbiased. Please give to Big Shot by making a secure one-time donation to help us continue covering DJ culture and electronic music like we’ve done since 2003.

Gel Abril 5 Tracks of the Moment

gel abril closed circuits

Tel Aviv-based DJ/producer Roy Brizman (a.k.a. Gel Abril) has been deep in the mix for years, dropping tech-house masterpieces for top-notch imprints including Ovum, Snatch! and Get Physical as well as his Closed Circuits label.

After releasing his Prolex EP on Francesca Lombardo’s Echoe imprint in August, Roy’s hypnotic track appears on Echolette & Echoe: In Retrospect, a compilation celebrating ten years of Echolette and younger sibling of Echoe.

As we get ready to say good riddance to the dumpster fire that is 2020, we asked Roy to share his five favorite tracks of the moment. Continue Reading