Jeff Mills Hopes Spiral Deluxe Can Open the Pathway To New Chapter of Techno

Jeff Mills

Jeff Mills has been chasing the sound of the future for most of his life. From legendary DJ gigs and mix shows in his native Detroit when he was known as The Wizard to co-founding Underground Resistance along with “Mad” Mike Banks in the ’80s, Mills has painted techno’s canvas with the broadest of brush strokes.

Musically, his rock-solid, pioneering output is vast and there are too many landmark releases to mention — 1992’s Waveform Transmission Vol.1 and 1995’s The Purpose Maker is a good place to start for the uninitiated. Mills’s 1997 opus “The Bells,” a ferocious tribal track, is his most ubiquitous but nonetheless one of the genre’s finest moments.

Mills’s musical odyssey has taken to him to far-flung corners of the world. Since the ‘80s he’s juxtaposed gigs poised behind three decks and a Roland TR-909 drum machine at raves, clubs, festivals with a four-month residency at Paris’s globally acclaimed museum Le Louvre and recording Blue Potential with the 70-piece Montpellier Philharmonic Orchestra in 2006. Then there’s the ongoing collaboration between techno pioneer Mills and Afrobeat drummer Tony Allen that dates back to 2016, when they played at a jazz club in Paris.

During his residency at Le Louvre Mills began flirting with the idea of performing with a band. A drummer from an early age, he saw the band format as an opportunity to reconnect with his musical past and explore other styles of music. The result of his vision is Spiral Deluxe, an improvisational quartet he helms with bandmates Yumiko Ohno on Moog synth, Kenji “Jino” Hino on bass and Gerald Mitchell on keyboards.

Fresh from releasing the band’s debut release, Voodoo Magic on his Axis label, Mills tells us that “after the first 30 minutes into our first rehearsal, I knew we had something special! It had felt like we had been playing together for years.” Continue Reading

Massive Attack Ready 2018 ‘Mezzanine’ Remaster with Unheard Mad Professor Dub Remixes

massive attack mezzanine 2018 remasterGIF

Bristol trip-hop legends Massive Attack have announced plans to release a remastered version of their seminal 1998 album Mezzanine. The band’s third album features classic tracks such as “Teardrop” and “Angel.” The special edition features eight previously unheard Mad Professor remixes from the original 1998 sessions on three slabs of colored vinyl. This specially designed heat-sensitive box includes a book featuring exclusive images by Nick Knight and Massive Attack’s Robert Del Naja. The package will also be available on 2CD deluxe and digital.

massive attack mezzanine box set 2018

Swedish Lo-Fi Band ShitKid Are Doin’ It For Themselves


Swedish DIY garage-pop band ShitKid are the new Scandi kids on the block and, well, they aren’t shit. The English name of the band is a direct translation for Skitunge, which derives from a boogeyman folk tale passed down by parents so as to warn their kids off from playing in rock bands. Clearly, ShitKid were having none of that. Signed to Stockholm indie label PNKSLM Recordings, the band has released two formidable EPs one LP, and have a new full-length album on the way. Meanwhile, they have garnered the attention of magazines such as i-D, DIY and The Fader.

Our Hugh Bohane chatted with lead singer Åsa Söderqvist and the band’s music video director and fill-in keyboardist, Linda Hedström, as the group prepares to go on tour with The Melvins in October. Continue Reading

Premiere: Benedikt Frey – Iaon

Lumiere Noire Presents From Above Vol. I

Composer/producer/musician/Lumière Noire boss Chloé has compiled Lumiere Noire Presents From Above Vol. I, a brand new compilation featuring hand-picked tracks from Markus Gibb, Ben Shemie, Sutja Gutierrez and Bajram Bili.

We’re extremely pleased to world premiere Benedikt Frey’s “Iaon.” The German DJ/producer/founder of the Label Love Pain Sunshine & Rain, whose Artificial album was one of 2017’s top full-lengths, offers up a hypnotic, deeply dubby techno contribution to the 13-track affair.

Hit the play button below and be sure to check the entire compilation when it drops on October 26.