FYF Fest 2018 Abruptly Canceled


Bad news for anyone planning to attend FYF Fest 2018 in Los Angeles. Today festival promoters Goldenvoice abruptly announced that it was pulling the plug on this year’s edition.

A statement posted on Facebook (see below) attributed the cancellation to “unable to present an experience on par with the expectations of our loyal fans and the Los Angeles music community.” Translation: poor ticket sales made the event financially impossible to present at Exposition Park in Downtown Los Angeles on July 21-22.

FYF Fest 2018 had a good lineup featuring Janet Jackson, Florence and the Machine, Bloody Valentine, St. Vincent, the xx, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Future and Bicep.

This year’s festival would have been the first after the departure of founder Sean Carlson, who left after sexual assault allegations were made in November 2017.

After much consideration, we have made the difficult decision to cancel FYF Fest 2018.

Our team of many women and men have worked tirelessly on this event for many years but felt unable to present an experience on par with the expectations of our loyal fans and the Los Angeles music community this year.

We will be announcing some special local shows soon, featuring some of the amazing artists from the 2018 line up.

Ticket purchasers will automatically receive full refunds, including all service charges, beginning this Monday, May 7th, 2018. There is no action necessary on your end to receive a refund. You will receive an email notification from Festival Ticketing once your order is cancelled and refunded. Please allow 5 to 7 business days for the funds to appear in your bank account.

Image via Facebook

Help Wanted: Big Shot Is Looking For Freelance Music Writers


Breaking news! We’re looking to expand our roster of global contributors. That’s right, we’re in search of reliable, deadline-driven freelancers — feature writers, music reviewers, photographers and videographers —to pitch us fresh story ideas, artist interviews, trend stories, music reviews, event recaps and breaking news.

We’re a niche publication, so a deep knowledge of DJ culture and all forms of electronic music is absolutely essential.

If you think you have the skills to pay the bills, introduce yourself by e-mail and tell us about your experience and type of work you’re looking to do.

Include at least three (3) links to published stories and include “Freelancer” in the subject line.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Idris Elba Will Mix It Up As Struggling DJ-Turned-Nanny in Upcoming Netflix Comedy Series ‘Turn Up Charlie’

DJ Idris Elba

Netflix has given the green light to an upcoming original half-hour show Big Shot readers will surely be interested in. Famed UK TV/film/theater actor Idris Elba, who is known for his roles in The Wire and Luther, will play a failed DJ in Turn Up Charlie, a scripted comedy series about a jock trying to relaunch his career while working as a nanny for his superstar best friend’s 11-year-old daughter.

In addition to starring in the show, Elba serves as co-executive producer on the show.

Elba should bring authenticity to the role in lieu of his vast experience as a DJ (see video below), playing festivals such as Snowbombing, Glastonbury, Creamfields to clubs such as Output and Pacha. He also co-runs the East London-based 7Wallace label, which just dropped Brett Gould’s Get Down EP, and is said to be announcing a special residency in Ibiza for the upcoming season.

Filming for Turn Up Charlie begins in May in the UK. Netflix says the show will stream in 2019.

Image via Facebook

Dimension’s Massive 56-Track FABRICLIVE 98 Features 22 Exclusive D’n’B Tracks by Chase & Status, Sub Focus & More

FABRICLIVE 98 Dimension

Rising drum ‘n’ bass star Dimension has been tapped to mix the 98th installment of FABRICLIVE 98. The 56-track DJ mix features an incredible 22 exclusive tracks by Skrillex, deadmau5, Chase & Status, Sub Focus, Calyx & Teebee, The Prototypes, Culture Shock, 1991, Metrik, Benny L, Turno, Dossa & Locuzzed and Fred V & Grafix. Dimension’s floor burner “Whip Slap VIP” is also included in the release out May 25.

Obligatory press release gush from Dimension: “Of course, I wanted to make the mix special. I wanted it to represent my attitude towards the energy experienced at shows, but also appreciated the fact that the mix isn’t always going to be heard on a dance floor. I also wanted the mix to contain a lot of new music, hence why over half the track list has never been heard and is specifically unique to FABRICLIVE 98. Some of the most talented producers from all around the scene went out their way to create bespoke VIPs from their back catalogue, specifically for the mix. I truly hope the result is something that people are really excited to hear.”

FABRICLIVE 98 track list * = exclusive track

  1. Dimension – Intro / Pull Me Under feat. RAPHAELLA [MTA] *
  2. Culture Shock – Rush Connection [RAM]
  3. Concept 2 – Cause & Effect (Calyx & Teebee Remix) [RAM]
  4. The Prototypes – Pale Blue Dot (VIP Mix) [Viper Recordings] *
  5. Dimension – Jet Black (VIP Mix) [MTA] *
  6. Calyx & Teebee – Skank (VIP Mix) [RAM] *
  7. Document One – Uh Huh (VIP Mix) [Technique Recordings] *
  8. Chase & Status – No Problem (VIP Mix) [Chase & Status] *
  9. Dimension – Whip Slap (VIP Mix) [MTA] *
  10. Dimension – Beg & Borrow (VIP Mix) [Dimension] *
  11. Culture Shock – Bunker [RAM]
  12. 1991 – Witchdoctor [MTA]
  13. Calyx & Teebee – Sawn Off (Dimension Edit) [RAM]
  14. Dimension – Techno [Dimension]
  15. SpectraSoul – 4URGH [Ish Chat Music]
  16. Culture Shock – Lower Frequencies [Culture Shock] *
  17. Metrik – Fatso [Hospital]
  18. Dimension – Love To Me (VIP Mix) [MTA] *
  19. 1991 – Jungle Cats [1991]
  20. Dimension – Generator [Dimension]
  21. Sub Focus – Circadian [Sub Focus] *
  22. Chase & Status – Tribes [Chase & Status]
  23. Dimension – UK (VIP) [Dimension] *
  24. Dimension – UK (Skrillex Edit) [Dimension] *
  25. My Nu Leng & Flava D – Soul Shake (1991 VIP Remix) [My Nu Leng] *
  26. Dimension – Raver [Dimension]
  27. Bensley – Ascension [RAM]
  28. Benny L – Low Blow (VIP Mix) [Metalheadz] *
  29. Dillinja – Friday [Valve Digital]
  30. DJ Fresh feat. Sigma – Cylon [Breakbeat Kaos]
  31. Sub Focus – Stomp [RAM]
  32. Chris Lake – I Want You (1991 Remix) [OWSLA]
  33. High Contrast – If We Ever [Hospital]
  34. B-Complex – Beautiful Lies [Hospital]
  35. Rockwell – User [Shogun Audio]
  36. Fred V & Grafix – Just A Thought (2018 Mix] [Viper Recordings] *
    Fred V & Grafix – Ultraviolet [Hospital]
  37. Deadmau5 – Avarita (Dimension 2018 Remix) [Universal]
  38. Chase & Status – Is It Worth It (VIP Mix) [Mercury]
  39. Sub Focus – Deep Space [RAM Records]
  40. IllSkillz – Directions [Hospital]
  41. Wilkinson & Dimension – Rush [RAM]
  42. Wilkinson – Afterglow [RAM]
  43. Empire Of The Sun – We Are The People (Sub Focus Remix) [The Sleepy Jackson / Nick Littlemore]
  44. Dimension – Automatik [Dimension]
  45. Dossa & Locuzzed – Shag (VIP Mix) [Viper Recordings] *
  46. Turno – The Invaderz (VIP Mix) [Charge] *
  47. Metrik – Want My Love feat. Elisabeth Troy [Hospital]
  48. Chase & Status – All Crew [Self-Release]
  49. Koncept – Breathe In [Viper Recordings]
  50. Commix – Be True [Metalheadz]
  51. Sub Focus – X-Ray (Metrik Remix) [RAM]
  52. Tantrum Desire – Pump (Dimension Edit) [Technique Recordings] *
  53. Chase & Status – International (Dimension Remix) [Chase & Status]
  54. Cyantific – Infinity Plus 1 [RAM]
  55. John B – Up All Night [Metalheadz]
  56. Dusky – Ingrid Is A Hybrid (Metrik Remix) [Polydor] *