Pioneer Unveils Unveils DDJ-1000 Controller

Pioneer DDJ-1000 Controller

Ahead of Winter NAMM 2018 taking place January 25-26 at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, CA, Pioneer DJ has announced the release of their four-channel DDJ-1000 controller for use with its rekordbox dj application. The compact and portable controller arrives with the release of rekordbox (ver 5.1), which includes a host of product enhancements and additions. If you own a licence key for one of the rekordbox Plus Packs (rekordbox dj, video or dvs), you can upgrade to the new version of the Plus Pack for free.

Pioneer DJ says its latest and greatest DJ weapon provides mixmasters and mixstresses with an arsenal of tools when DJing in a non-club environment such as an event or party venue.

The DDJ-1000’s SRP of €1,199 including VAT (roughly US $1466.95). It comes with a bundled licence key for our professional DJ performance application rekordbox dj, worth €139 (roughly US $170).

See below for full details and product demo video. Continue Reading

You Can Now Learn to DJ in VR


As more artists tap the power of virtual reality to create immersive 360° music videos as a means to further their artistic expression, Tribe VR, a VR/AR company, has teamed up with DJ Kryoman (a.k.a. Andrew Moore) and Pyramind, a San Francisco-based music school, to develop an immersive learning experience for aspiring DJs.

Tribe’s VR DJ school offers insight on how to virtually DJ and mix music using a virtual setup, with wannabe DJs learning the controls and techniques from Tribe’s virtual DJ mentors and mix sets.

The free play zone includes Kryoman’s tracks. Upcoming lessons include: beat-matching basics mixing techniques and DJ masterclasses. Tribe VR’s DJ school experience is available now on Oculus Rift for a launch price of $3.99.

tribe vr dj setup

Obligatory press release gush from Tom Impallomeni, co-founder and CEO of Tribe VR: “The team here at Tribe are a group of wannabe superstar DJs. We all love music and see VR as a way to remove the barriers to learning to DJ and produce music. It’s such a natural fit for VR, a multi-sensory experience which and opens up a whole world of possibilities for learning and creation. We hope that fans enjoy their first taste of DJing in VR as much as we have!”

John Digweed Stalker Pleads Guilty

john digweed

A woman in England has pleaded guilty to stalking Bedrock Records boss John Digweed.

According to Kent Online, Sharon Rennie, 49, sent Digweed a large number of emails between June and October, none of which were replied to. The emails expressed admiration, love and were sometimes sexually explicit. In addition to attempting to get the DJ’s phone number from his agent, Rennie approached Digweed while performing at The Social Festival in Kent, England, in September. She reportedly ran up to him and kissed him, saying, “It’s great to see you. Are you coming home with me?” Digweed had her ejected by security.

Three days later Rennie turned up at his home, attempting to confirm his address with a neighbor.

Rennie apologized in court and promised to never contact him again. She was sentenced to 120 days in prison, suspended for two years, and ordered to pay Digweed £100 in compensation.

Donate to Big Shot & Help Us Stay 100% Independent

Eastern Electrics

We aren’t owned by a global publishing empire or a billionaire. Please help Big Shot remain 100% independent and unbiased.

Your contribution will help us continue covering global DJ culture and electronic music in a fearless way like we’ve been doing since 2003.

If you could see fit to contribute a few bucks, you’ll support our work:

• breaking the latest music news
• interviewing underground artists
• featuring DJ mixes by established and emerging stars
• reviewing music that needs to be heard

Please donate to Big Shot by making a one-time secure contribution via PayPal.

Special thanks to everyone who has already contributed.

Image by Sarah Koury

12 Most Read Stories on Big Shot Magazine in 2017

most read stories

Bye-bye, 2017. It was … um, interesting? Trump. Brexit. #MeToo. To say it was a challenging year would be an understatement. Despite the nonstop political circus and outrageous negativity and intolerance that’s been normalized, we remained focused on bringing our faithful readers interviews and guest mixes from the best DJs around as well as electronic-music news, reviews, charts and tons of music and video premieres.

Now that the year is in the history books, we collected a list of the top dozen stories from last year just for you.

Here’s wishing everyone a happy, healthy and productive 2018. Happy reading.

Read DJs and artists’ 2017 Rewind recaps here.

  1. Guy J 5 Tracks of the Moment
  2. Rewind: 238 DJs & Artists Look Back On 2016
  3. Historic East Village Venue Webster Hall Closing in August
  4. RIP Mark ‘DJ Markie Gee’ Greenland
  5. The Orb’s Dr. Alex Paterson Shares Favorite Pop Ambient Tracks
  6. Dave Clarke on EDM, ADE, Trump & His First Album in 14 Years
  7. Detroit Swindle 5 Tracks of the Moment
  8. Premiere: Acid Pauli – Majid (Nico Stojan Remix)
  9. Toby Smith, Co-Founder of Jamiroquai, Dies at 46
  10. Matthias Tanzmann 5 Tracks of the Moment
  11. 10 Mexican DJs To Know For Cinco de Mayo
  12. Technics SL-1200GR ‘Budget’ Turntable is Overpriced

Help Wanted: Big Shot Is Looking For Freelancers


Breaking news! We’re looking to expand our roster of global contributors. That’s right, we’re in search of reliable, deadline-driven freelancers — feature writers, music reviewers, photographers and videographers —to pitch us fresh story ideas, artist interviews, trend stories, music reviews, event recaps and breaking news.

We’re a niche publication, so a deep knowledge of DJ culture and all forms of electronic music is absolutely essential.

If you think you have the skills to pay the bills, introduce yourself by e-mail and tell us about your experience and type of work you’re looking to do.

Include at least three (3) links to published stories and include “Freelancer” in the subject line.

We look forward to hearing from you!