Premiere: Rorquals and Dead Circuits – Collision (Alien Remix)


Drone/experimental/ambient musicians Rorquals (Rob Mells) and Dead Circuits (Paul Blackburn) have teamed up to release a split six-track album on Courier titled Symbiosis due later this month.

We’re thrilled to world premiere the pair’s celestial, atmospheric “Collison” collaboration reimagined by Alien (a.k.a. Alastair Johnson of Masal and Palindromes and the Ship Full of Bombs radio station).

On the non-LP remix, Johnson builds his techno-fied re-rub over a chugging, expansive groove and haunting synth lines that’s tailor-made for a gigantic warehouse party (remember those?).

Hit the play button below and enjoy.

Premiere: Bayalien Sound System – Tabs

Bayalien Sound System - Tabs

As much of the world remains shuttered to fight the coronavirus pandemic, it’s only fitting that music’s BPMs slow down during this time of self-isolation and quarantine.

On their Tabs EP (We Got This) due out April 10, San Francisco-based bass/dubstep masters Bayalien Sound System – Chris Cohan (a.k.a. Poppa Doses) and Ivan Lindau (a.k.a. Golden Eye) – craft the perfect blend of head-nodding grooves and thick basslines that these times demand.

We’re pleased to world premiere the title track from the duo’s latest and greatest.

“Tabs” is a hypnotic, woozy affair that’s chock full of bubbling blips and bleeps. It’s music that’s unintentionally tailor-made for this moment, a time where days and nights blur into each other.

Hit the play button below and enjoy.

Tabs, by Bayalien Sound System

Pre-order of Tabs. You get 1 track now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus the complete album the moment it’s released. Purchasable with gift card Bayalien Sound System’s second release on We Got This Music.

Premiere: Sébastopol – Plowshare


Attracted to dance music at a young age like a moth to a flame, French DJ/producer Sebastien Bouchet has developed an impressive discography of minimal techno and deep house jams released on labels like Kompakt, Hippie Dance, Correspondant and My Favorite Robot.

On March 27, Bouchet returns to hafendisko with a two-track release via his Sébastopol alias, a nom de plume that allows him to travel down less-traveled musical roads.

We’re thrilled to world premiere the title track “Plowshare.” It’s a propulsive, heaven-sent synth romp packing pulsating bass, dynamic melodies and a sexy groove that would make Giorgio Moroder feel love.

Says Sebastien about the new release, “You can say that ‘Walk Of Life’ by Dire Straits inspired me to compose ‘Plowshare’ and that ‘Quarterback’ is my melancholic vision of techno music.”

Hit the play button below and enjoy.

No paywalls, free to all. Help us remain 100% independent and unbiased. Please give to Big Shot by making a secure one-time donation to help us continue covering DJ culture and electronic music like we’ve done since 2003.

Premiere: Bizz O.D. & Jimi Tenor – “Stop & Goodbye”

Premiere: Bizz O.D. & Jimi Tenor - "Stop & GoodBye"

In 1992 Bizz O.D. and Jimi Tenor moved to New York City to launch Public Extacy. While the band never took flight, the pair did record the three-track Traffic EP released on OZON Records, an imprint helmed by notable German producers Biochip C. and Jammin’ Unit.

The lost 1995 release has been thankfully dusted off and remastered. It’s set to be released on March 27 via Khan (Of Findland)’s Temple Traxx. (The reissue includes an unreleased bonus track titled “Girls.”)

We’re pleased to world premiere the remastered version of “Stop & GoodBye,” an acid-house stomp fest full of stuttering vocal snippets and squelchy electro basslines. Hearing all those gorgeous blips and bleeps make us nostalgic for happier days gone by.

Hit the play button below and enjoy.