DVS1 Mixing fabric 96

dvs1 fabric 96

Techno stalwart DVS1 (a.k.a. Zak Khutoresky) has been tapped to mix fabric 96 due out December 8, 2017. Known for two decades of releasing genre-pushing tracks on his own renowned labels, HUSH and Mistress Recordings, fabric 96 is comprised almost entirely of unreleased material, mixed live in one take on 3 decks and a Zone 92.

Obligatory press release gush from DVS1: “This mix CD concept was much more difficult to put together than I had imagined… As I don’t do mixes and haven’t released any mixes in over 4 years, I kept going back and forth in my mind leading up to selecting music about what style and vibe to present confined to the length a CD allows. Most people know me for techno, but I love such a broad range of music and had to find a way to limit myself to have a focus. In the end I decided on a snapshot of a more straightforward focused mix…Created from asking friends and colleagues, known and unknown to send me unreleased music. I gathered what I was sent and tried to extract the parts and pieces and a few ‘released’ tracks that stood out in my current mindset. This mix is a moment in time captured.”

Track list

  1. Unknown Artist – For All Mankind
  2. Gabriella Vergilov – Boring Shit [Thema]
  3. Kirill Mamin – Silent Prayer [Mistress]
  4. Border One – Curve [HUSH]
  5. Doubt – Just Pain [HUSH]
  6. DJ Surgeles – Witness New Species (No Vox Mix) [HUSH]
  7. Mike Storm – From The Human Eye To Earth [HUSH]
  8. Sirko Müller – Our Blood [Tokomak]
  9. Steffi – 1E-4 [HUSH]
  10. Psyk – Falling [Unreleased]
  11. Neel – The Vancori Complex [Spazio Disponibile]
  12. Planetary Assault Systems – Fathoms Deep [Mote-Evolver]
  13. Oscar Mulero – Drops [HUSH]
  14. Jeff Mills – Fly Guy [Purpose Maker]
  15. Maan – Vert [HUSH]
  16. Steve Bicknell – space 13 [HUSH]
  17. Dustin Zahn – Politics Of Seduction [HUSH]
  18. Mike Gervais – Set Me Free [Enemy]
  19. Adriana Lopez – Last Path [HUSH]
  20. Truncate – Pseudo V2 [Unreleased]
  21. ROD – Duchi Kaal [HUSH]
  22. Kirill Mamin – Dunning-Kruger Effect [Mistress]
  23. Mark Broom – Drum Jamz 2 [HUSH]
  24. Henning Baer – Code Buster [Manhigh]
  25. Lando – Ceremony [Mistress]
  26. Strain -Theory [HUSH]
  27. d-56m – Question Authority [Poverty Is Violence]
  28. Anthony Rother – Technic Electric [Psi49Net ]
  29. Jeff Mills -The Dancer [Purpose Maker]

Sam Skilz October 2017 Chart

Sam Skilz

  1. Sam Skilz feat. Grace Ashaye – Stay Together (Original) – GaGa Records
  2. Kleen Kutz, Sneak-A-Peek, Jamie Lewis – I Know (Feel It) – Purple Music
  3. XOA – Diaspora (Laolu Remix) – Soundway Records
  4. Those Guys – I Walk Alone (Robosonic Remix) – Big Love
  5. Dennis Quin – So Intense (Original Mix) – Snatch! Records
  6. Carl Cox – I Want You Forever (Josh Butler Remix) – CR2
  7. Filta Freqz – Master Blaster (Original) – Seventy Four
  8. Paolo Paleologo, Giulia Ines – Gonna Make It (Original Mix) – D-Vine Sounds
  9. PAWSA – Party (Extended Mix) – PAWZ
  10. Illyus & Barrientos – Dumb (Original Mix) – Club Sweat

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

List of DJs Donating Money to Las Vegas Victims

Diplo performing at XS Wynn Hotel Las Vegas

I lost interest in Diplo when he embarked on a musical shift to EDM and started doing stupid shit like standing on DJ tables during his sets (see photo above). While I won’t digress and give my opinion on the former and the latter, the man born Thomas Wesley Pentz deserves a pat on the back for announcing on Twitter on Saturday that he’s donating $100,000 to a GoFundMe launched by Clark County Commission Chair Steve Sisolak and County Sheriff Joe Lombardo to help victims of the Route 91 Harvest Festival shooting in Las Vegas.

Earlier in the week EDM act The Chainsmokers confirmed they donated $10,000 to the GoFundMe.

“My deepest sympathies are with the victims of this horrific tragedy and their families,” Diplo wrote in a statement. “It’s my hope that these events will start a long awaited and honest conversation about the importance of gun control in America. Las Vegas is my home, and it’s devestating to see this happen in such a vibrant city with an amazing community of people I consider my family.”

In addition to donating $100,000, Diplo, a resident at Wynn Las Vegas’s XS Nightclub, challenged other DJs and hotel owners to follow his lead. His message was heard loud and clear.

Kaskade promptly replied, “Count me in @diplo #VegasStrong.”

Dutch DJ Tiësto, who also has a Las Vegas residency, doubled down: “As a Las Vegas lover I do what Vegas lovers do! I double down! So I will donate 200k.”

So far over $10 million has been raised. You can contribute to the fund here.

October 11 update: Hakkasan Group has announced a Benefit Concert to take place on Tuesday, Nov. 7 at OMNIA Nightclub inside Caesars Palace. In response to the recent tragedy, the Las Vegas-based company will look to bring the industry together to raise funds for families and victims affected by this devastating event. With tickets starting at $30 and VIP tables available for purchase, all proceeds will be donated to the Las Vegas Victims Fund via the Direct Impact Fund, a 501(c)(3) which will take no fees or operating costs for their help in distributing relief to the victims.

Image by Danny Mahoney

Bryan Chapman October 2017 Chart


  1. Bryan Chapman – “Laghava” (Monotony)
  2. Varg – “Weekend in Captivity” (Northern Electronics)
  3. Von Grall – “The Slope” (Midgar Records)
  4. Luigi Tozzi & BLNDR – “Dusk” (Hypnus Records)
  5. DJ Richard – “Zero” (Dial)
  6. Polar Inertia – “Inland Return” (Atmophile Electronics)
  7. Bryan Chapman – “Perpetual Purification” (Monotony)
  8. Aiken – “Somatic” (Non Series)
  9. Rhyw – “Aversion To Memory” (Avian)
  10. Bryan Chapman – “Seppuku” (Monotony)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

PHON.O October 2017 Chart


  1. Skee Mask – “Kappelberg Chant” (Ilian Tapes)
  2. Hodge – “Swing For The Fences” (Hemlock)
  3. Pinch – “Waterbomb” (Cold)
  4. Shed – “Turn 2 Turn” (Monkeytown)
  5. Sieren – “Tailored Mistakes” (Apollo)
  6. Peverelist – “Roll With The Punches” (Punch Drunk)
  7. Pinch & Mumdance – “Control” (Tectonic)
  8. NKC – “Tincture” (Her)
  9. Cooly G – “Hard” (Hyperdub)
  10. Brainwaltzera – “carniblurr.lane 6” (Film)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

Remembering Bay Area Icon DJ Stef


Stephanie Ornelas, better known as DJ Stef, passed away at her San Francisco home on Sunday morning. According to reports, she suffered a heart attack. She was 55.

Ornelas grew up in the Bay Area, attending Concord’s Mt. Diablo High School and San Francisco State University. In the ’90s she founded Vinyl Exchange, a fanzine for record collectors and crate diggers. A talented graphic designer, she was passionate about music and spreading the word both online and in print.

Ornelas had just finished a third-Saturday summer residency at Drake’s Dealership in Uptown Oakland.

There’s been an outpouring of love for Stef on social media, including reflections from El-P, Prince Paul and DJ Z-Trip.