Dave Clarke’s First Album in 15 Years Contains ‘Very Little Techno’

DJ Dave Clarke

Dave Clarke, who the legendary late BBC DJ John Peel dubbed The Baron of Techno, has announced plans to release his first artist album in 14 years. That’s right, 14 years!

Set for release on October 27 The Desecration of Desire follows 1995’s collection of singles Archive One and 2003’s Devil’s Advocate, an assemblage of cuts Clarke “produced under various outside pressures.”

On The Desecration of Desire (Skint) Clarke intentionally veered away from his focus area of techno to explore his passion for punk, new wave, noise, and industrial music.

Says Clarke of his techno-free LP, “I live and breathe it every single week — but I wanted to make an album that was not a collection of club tracks. I listen to many types of music all the time and I felt free for the first time to implement this approach for my own project.”

Clarke assembled a roster of collaborators, including former Screaming Trees frontman Mark Lanegan, LOUISAHHH, Mt. Sims, Gazelle Twin, and Keith Tenniswood.

The album’s lead track “Charcoal Eyes (Glass Tears)” featuring Mark Lanegan was posted yesterday. Hit the play button below and get a taste of what lies ahead.

The Desecration Of Desire track list

  1. Exquisite
  2. Is Vic There? (feat. LOUISAHHH)
  3. Frisson (feat. Mt. Sims)
  4. Plasmatic
  5. Dot Forty One (Mute)
  6. Charcoal Eyes (Glass Tears) (feat. Mark Lanegan)
  7. Monochrome Sun (feat. Mark Lanegan)
  8. Cover Up My Eyes (feat. Gazelle Twin)
  9. I’m Not Afraid (feat. Anika)
  10. Death Of Pythagoras

Ben Long August 2017 Chart


  1. Mark Broom – “King” (EPMmusic)
  2. Ben Long – “Calling Broadsword (Jamie Bissmire Remix)” (EPMmusic)
  3. Dany Rodriguez – “D’Visions” (RMR)
  4. Floorplan – “Let The Church” (M-Plant)
  5. Mark Fanciulli – “Deviation (DJ 3000 String Mix)” (Motech)
  6. Ben Sims – “Untitled Roller”
  7. Space DJz – “Temple Ball Skank (Lex Gorrie Remix)” (Advanced Black)
  8. Ben Long – “Device Disconnect”
  9. Niereich – “Modern Soul feat DJ Emerson” (Micro.Fon)
  10. Pascal Hetzel – “Stutter” (Caduceus)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

DJ 3000 August 2017 Chart


  1. Waajeed – “Shango” (Dirt Tech Reck)
  2. Frazier & Rudosa – “Rotate” (Intec)
  3. Mark Broom – “King (Gary Beck Remix)” (EPMmusic)
  4. Subradeon – “Rhythm” (Trau-ma)
  5. P-Ben – “Under The Torii” (Motech)
  6. DJ Bone – “Black Patterns (Len Faki Hardspace Mix)” (LF RMX)
  7. Robert Hood – “The Bond We Formed (Slam Remix)” (Soma)
  8. Sascha Dive – “Dark Shadow (Arno E. Mathieu Clima Peak Time Mix)” (DVR)
  9. Alias – “The Truth” (Drumcode)
  10. Shades of Drums – “Digits” (Cyclic Numbers)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

[Updated] SoundCloud Shareholders Give Founders an Ultimatum: Report


The drama that is the future of SoundCloud seems to be heading to a pivital moment. In July the music streaming platform shed 3 percent of staff (143 workers) and closed its London and San Francisco office.

After TechCrunch reported that the company was almost out of cash, co-founder and CEO Alexander Ljung took to the company’s blog and declared, “There’s an insane amount of noise about SoundCloud in the world right now. And it’s just that, noise. The music you love on SoundCloud isn’t going away, the music you shared or uploaded isn’t going away, because SoundCloud is not going away. Not in 50 days, not in 80 days or anytime in the foreseeable future. Your music is safe…. SoundCloud is here to stay.”

But according to a memo sent to shareholders by Ljung, and published by Axios, if shareholders don’t accept the reorganization proposal by the end of Friday, the streaming service could cease to “continue as a going concern.” If they agree, Soundcloud gets its new investment: $169.5 million at a pre-money enterprise valuation of $150 million.

According to the memo, “Financing of this size will enable to Company to pay off its remaining debt, while ensuring a strong, independent future… In the event that the transaction does not close and in the vent SoundCloud does not otherwise obtain additional funding, based on current cashflow forecasts, SoundCloud faces liquidity concerns in the near term.”

More on this story as it develops.

UPDATE [August 12] SoundCloud has secured financing in order to stay afloat, according to a blog post on the company’s website. CEO Alex Ljung will step aside though remain chairman as former Vimeo CEO Kerry Trainor replaces him. Mike Weissman will become COO as SoundCloud co-founder and CTO Eric Wahlforss stays as chief product officer. New York investment bank Raine Group and Singapore’s sovereign wealth fund Temasek have stepped in to lead the new Series F funding round of $169.5 million.

Tunnel Signs August 2017 Chart


  1. Tunnel Signs – Carbonate (Willie Burns Remix) (Samo Records)
  2. Cute Heels – The Rhythm and the Pleasure (NYC Club Mix) (Synthicide)
  3. Laila Sakini & Lucy Van – False Ceiling (Purely Physical)
  4. Factory Floor – Relay (Charles Manier Remix) (DFA)
  5. ForcesI – Don’t Run (Fleisch)
  6. Cowboy Rhythmbox – Tanz Exotique (Phantasy)
  7. Mytron & Ofofo – Something For The Mind (For Discos Only)
  8. Boxcar – Vertigo (K-Effect Remix) (Volition)
  9. Face – Statue (Cin Cin)
  10. Moderna Y Theus Mago – Tecno Misógino (Bufi Remix) (La dame Noir)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

Mark Broom August 2017 Chart

Mark Broom Beard Man

  1. Taken – “Cluster” (Skudge)
  2. Pfirter – “They Want To Fool Us (Stanislav Tolkachev Remix)” (MindTrip)
  3. Kuf – “Sport” (Float)
  4. Nihad Tule – “Drags” (Norrkoping Techno City)
  5. Landside – “Signs of Change (Robert Hood Remix)” (Just This)
  6. Avision – “That’s My Sh*t” (Beard Man)
  7. Truncate – “Modify V2” (Truncate)
  8. Psyk – “Sideral” (Semantica)
  9. Discrete Circuit – “Road Force” (Ashtray)
  10. A Silver Mt. Zion – “Angels Standing Guard ‘Round The Side Of Your Bed” (Constellation)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.