Premiere: Elbows – Blimp


Brooklyn-based, Bay Area bred producer/songwriter/multidisciplinary artist Elbows (a.k.a. Max Schieble) works across many mediums. A few years out of school, he’s blurring the lines between his chosen artistic disciplines. (The image above represents his unique style as an illustrator and art director.)

On his upcoming debut Corduroy EP set for release on May 19, he’ll present to the world a snapshot of his musical signature that’s loosely stitched together with elements of hip-hop, electronic, and pop-drenched soul music.

We’re extremely pleased to world premiere “Blimp,” a woozy track off the EP, that was imagined during recording sessions in the Big Apple and Bay Area.

Schieble says of the track, “A lot of people in my family have gone through their share of tough times. ‘Blimp’ is a song I wrote for one family member in particular who has been through it and is still struggling. For years the lyrics were unfinished. I had the music, but didn’t understand my position behind the issue, and so the emotion kept changing. Eventually I realized what this person needed to hear in a song was something uplifting, something hopeful, which helped steer the message of the chorus.”

Video Premiere: JAQ feat. Jordan Lisle – Machine


Emerging Bristol DJ/producer JAQ, who is half of the production duo Ekcle, made quite a bit of noise last year when he dropped his debut house jam “Blue Treacle” (Rank & File). The tune (which also featured a righteous remix by Leeds’ Jey Kurmis) won the favor of some of the biggest jocks on the planet. Not bad for a young gun, right?

The track’s success inspired the one-named Bristolian to keep plugging away at his chosen mission to rock dance floors around the world.

After recently dropping his fiery follow-up single entitled “Machine” featuring vocalist Jordan Lisle (which was remixed by German twosome Raumakustik), JAQ returns with a smashing music video directed by Jon Smith.

Hit the play button below on the world premiere, and keep an eye on this talented up-and-comer.

Premiere: Soulnaturals ft. Jo Kelsey – I Got Sunshine (Enough For The World) (Chicky Boom Remix)


London soul/R&B act Soulnaturals led by songwriter-producer Tony Cannam connect with Auckland, New Zealand bred singer-songwriter Jo Kelsey for “I Got Sunshine (Enough For The World)” off their new album Love Says Yes! titled and have said track remixed for the dance floor by French DJ/producer Chicky Boom. Talk about an international effort, right?

We’re extremely pleased to world premiere the funky Frenchman’s house-tastic monster of a remix. Laden with deep keyboard work, crisp beats, bumpin’ bass, and expertly parsed samples of Kelsey’s powerful voice, the Toulouse maestro’s interpretation is old-school ’90s deepness meets contemporary vibes on a darkened dance floor.

Check the remix below, and the full release sporting re-rubs by Opolopo and Valique, when it’s released on May 12 via British Soul Standard.

‘Children’ Producer Robert Miles Dies at 47

DJ/producer Roberto Concina, better known to the world by his stage name Robert Miles, died today in Ibiza at the age of 47.

The news was broken by producer and longtime friend Joe T Vannelli, who first released Miles’ biggest hit, the trance/chillout classic “Children” in Italy in January 1995 as part of the EP Soundtracks on his DBX label, on Instagram.

Vanelli wrote, “The tragic news of the death of a very talented artist of our time makes me incredulous and upset. I will miss the fights, brawls, criticism, judgements but especially your talent in finding sounds and unparalleled melodies.”

Miles released six full-length albums during his career, but “Children” — a song he composed after seeing photographs of children who had been victims of the war in the former Yugoslavia —  was Miles’ most successful single. It was certified gold and platinum in several countries and it reached number one in more than 12 countries.

Miles reflected on the genesis of the track in his bio: “I was anxious to see how people would take to this piece. The following Sunday morning I opened my DJ set with ‘Children’, feeling both scared and excited… the DJ just before me had ended with a very heavy piece. To break the existing mood with a melodic tune and a long intro could have simply cleared the floor. The people in front of me stopped in their tracks, their eyes fixed to the console almost in annoyance. I felt my blood run cold and I remember lowering my eyes in fear. The record reached its soaring climax. From the floor came a thunderous noise… I lifted my gaze and saw a sea of hands reaching up high and a smile stamped on every face. A girl approached me in tears. “What music is this?” she asked me. I don’t think I shall ever forget that moment, when I realized that my feelings had been conveyed through my music. My dream turned into reality.”

He went on to launch his own label in 2000, S:alt Records, and kept busy as a DJ and producer.

The cause of death has yet to be announced. More as this story develops.

Premiere: Click Box – I Saw It


São Paulo minimal techno master Pedro Turra has been bringing the heat as Click Box for well over a decade, releasing music on lauded imprints including Richie Hawtin’s M_nus and Magda, Marc Houle and Troy Pierce’s Items & Things.

Originally a collaborative project, Turra, who runs Timbral Records, continues to blaze new sonic trails as a solo artist, embedding fresh ideas into each new release.

This month Turra brings his evolving style to Silencio Music by way of Click Box’s Slow Dancer EP. The four-track effort ably displays his seemingly limitless musical chops. A producer who is clearly not interested in repeating himself, all four cuts are soaked in spellbinding synths, funky basslines and trippy grooves.

We’re pleased to world premiere “I Saw It,” a hypnotic groover from the EP. Get a first listen below and check out the full release on May 17.

Premiere: Sid LeRock – High & Low


Currently living and crafting music in Berlin, Canadian DJ/producer Sidney Sheldon Thompson has built his rep recording under various monikers such as Pan/Tone and Gringo Grinder. With a discography brandishing remixing tracks for Depeche Mode, Placebo, and Gui Boratto, he also keeps busy running Beachcoma Recordings along with musical cohorts Metope and Fairmont.

These days Sidney is focusing on his most recent alias Sid Le Rock, a nom de plomb that finds him cultivating lush electronic tracks for the dance floor.

Now aligned with Hamburg-based Hafendisko he’s about to unveil his High & Low EP, featuring ’80s style electro jams and a plethora of synth-driven shenanigans. We’re pleased to world premiere the title cut from his upcoming EP, a sinewy mid-tempo cut that slinks along a twisted path of off-kilter digi-funk.

Have a listen below and pick up the full release on May 8.