Kompakt Preps ‘Total 18’ and 25th Anniversary Celebration

kompakt total 18

Revered Cologne-based Kompakt Records will release the 18th installment of its Total compilation series on August 24.

The double-disc affair features a selection of tracks by label mainstays and new faces (see tracklist below), contributing new, known and lesser-heard tracks from the likes of Terranova, VermontRex The Dog, Gui Boratto and Marc Romboy.

The label plans to celebrate its 25th anniversary with a hometown bash on September 1.

Obligatory press release gush from Michael Mayer about the compendium:”Each track has a story to tell. Apart from the obvious big tunes, Total‘s also bear room for the sleeper hits, those tracks that were criminally overlooked. With a bunch of new exclusive contributions thrown in the mix there’s plenty to discover or rediscover. Kompakt’s annual yearbook seen through my eyes for your ears and pleasure.“

Tracklisting CD/Digital
CD 1
01 Jürgen Paape – Well, It´s Paape
02 Sonns – Tame feat. Beesh
03 Tom Demac & Real Lies – White Flowers
04 Aaron Ahrends – Eyes Closed
05/A2 Thomas/Mayer – So Mad
06 Terranova – Let It Fail feat. Sifa & Ivory
07 John Tejada – Detector
08 Anii – Korzenie
09 Vermont – Dschuna (Dixon Mix)
10 La Marine – Flash
11 Fahrland – Yesterday feat. MZ Sunday Luv
12 Lebsanft & Raquet – Signale
13 Jono Ma & Dreems – Can’t Stop My Dreaming (Of You)
14 Jörg Burger – Petra Kelly

CD 2
01/15 Rex The Dog – Crasher
02/16 Gui Boratto – Forgive Me
03/17 Christian Nielsen – Cycle
04/18 ANNA – Hidden Beauties
05/19 T.Raumschmiere – Augen Zu
06/20 Voigt & Voigt – Durch & Durch
07/21 Animal Print – The Last Night Of Laura Palmer
08/22 Kölsch – Left Eye Left
09/23 Enzo Elia & Musumeci – Gothic Safari
10/24 Marc Romboy – Galaxy In An Atom
11/25 Ghost Vision – Zuul Passage

Tracklisting 2xLP+DL
A1 Aaron Ahrends – Eyes Closed
A2 Thomas/Mayer – So Mad
B1 Geiger – Autobahn
B2 Jürgen Paape – Well, It´s Paape
C1 Christian Nielsen – Cycle
C2 Voigt & Voigt – Durch & Durch
D1 Jörg Burger – Petra Kelly
D2 Lebsanft & Raquet – Signale

Premiere: Get a First Listen to Ambient Gem “Winterfold” Gagarin’s Return


Graham “Dids” Dowdall, a musical journeyman who has played with Nico, collaborated with John Cale, Ludus, Eric Random, Suns of Arqa, Band of Holy Jo and Low Bias, and is a member of avant rock legends Pere Ubu and duo Roshi featuring Pars Radio, recently issued Corvid Remixes, a stunning remix EP, under his Gagarin solo alias.

We’re pleased to world premiere “Winterfold Gagarin’s Return,” a bonus track not found on his latest effort.

“‘Winterfold’ is a rework of a track originally commissioned as part of a sound project based on 5 hills in Surrey,” Dowdall told us last year about the album version of the song.

“This hill is called Winterfold and the track features recordings of sounds from the top this wooded hill which I visited one evening in June. Whilst there a thunderstorm arrived though no rain fell as I walked. In this rework I’ve tried to capture the atmosphere of being high above the flat plain of southern Surrey and Sussex. All percussive sounds were generated by hitting twigs, branches and trees.”

Get a first listen below and enjoy.

GoFundMe Launched to Help NYC’s DJ Spinna Pay Medical Bills After Emergency Appendectomy

dj spinna

A GoFundMe campaign has been launched to benefit revered NYC-based DJ Spinna (real name: Vincent Williams), who suffered a major medical incident earlier this month.

According to friend Moe Choi (a.k.a. Choimatic), who launched the online fundraising effort, Spinna, who is widely known on the soulful house scene for his original productions and remixes and work in hip-hop for Mos Def and De La Soul, underwent an emergency appendectomy on June 11 after his appendix ruptured.

Choi says Spinna is in the process of recuperating and will need to take a few weeks to recover from the procedure. In the meantime, he will have to forgo scheduled and future DJ gigs that help him to support his family.

On the fundraising page Choi wrote, “In his moment of need, a donation of any amount will be greatly appreciated in helping our beloved friend. All donations will go directly towards covering his medical expenses.”

As of this writing the page was on target to raise $60,000. Donations to help Spinna can be made here.

Premiere: Dedo – Chaman/WiFi EP


Buenos Aires up-and-comer Joaquín Bartolomé Otero Sojo produces music and gets by with a little help from his friends.

With the ability to play several instruments, he slowly gravitated toward electronic music like a moth to a flame. Eventually he found a way to bridge the gap between both musical worlds in the form of Dedo, a project he fronts featuring a coterie of local musicians from his city’s underground music scene.

We’re pleased to world premiere Dedo’s Chaman/WiFi EP. It’s a gorgeous, meditative two-track debut effort that’s directly informed by jam sessions held in 2017 with several of his talented homies.

The EP’s special sauce lies in the way both cuts draw inspiration from electro-Andean music movement, which merges local indigenous sounds native to Latin America with digital processes. Get a first listen below and enjoy.