Premiere: Lonely C – Class of ’99


Nearly two decades into their career, Soul Clap’s list of professional feats are many. Eli Goldstein and Charles Levine have collectively poured their blood, sweat and tears into realizing a soulful sound that has one foot in the past, the other in the future. Their dedication, vision and unwavering attention to quality has won them a faithful fanbase that’s allowed them to rock international dance floors, produce and remix movement-inducing jams, collaborate with the likes of Nona Hendryx to Parliament-Funkadelic’s George Clinton, and run a label that exists to shine the spotlight on their coterie of talented friends.

Having faced his share of challenges and lived to tell, the timing couldn’t be more right for Levine to explore his Lonely C alias, a project in which he plays guitar and keyboards, drum programming and handles arrangements. The result of more than five years of work is his heartfelt debut solo album, Charles & Tribulations, an introspective collection of songs in which he throws down like you’ve never heard him before.

We’re honored to world premiere the album’s opening track “Class of ’99,” a kinetic booty shaker featuring skittering 8-bit sounding synths, clacking percussion, deep chords and a sultry female vocal. Hit the play button below for an exclusive taste, pick up the album on November 27 on Soul Clap Records and catch Charlie on the road in 2019.

Eelke Kleijn 5 Tracks of the Moment

Eelke Kleijn

Fans of deep, melodic electronica and cinematic progressive house rejoice. Rotterdam-based DJ/producer/composer Eelke Kleijn has just released his third full-length album, Moments of Clarity, via his own imprint DAYS like NIGHTS imprint/event series.

Picking up where he left off on 2010’s Untold Stories (Manual Music), Kleijn’s latest long-player is a testament to his musical maturation. A classically trained pianist who has cast a musical net that extends to doing sound design work to movie scores for Hollywood, Moments of Clarity could be his most organic work to date.

Ahead of upcoming gigs in Turkey, Sweden, Indonesia and Argentina, the Dutch master shares his favorite tracks of the moment. Continue Reading

Fernanda Martins November 2018 Chart

Fernanda Martins

  1. Red Rooms – Ghost (Jan Fleck RMX) (New Port)
  2. Jeroen Search – Rubidium (Figure)
  3. Linkan Ray – Planes (Be As One)
  4. Wisna – After The Ground (Devotion Records)
  5. Torix More – Hybris (DNA_rec)
  6. Dave Simon – Harmonicum (ODD Recordings)
  7. Hanubis – Abstract Process (91 Records)
  8. Echologist, Matrixxman – Shell Shock (Planet Rhythm)
  9. Michel Lauriola – Phoneme (Affekt Recordings)
  10. Fernanda Martins & Matt Minimal – Rampant (Perfekt Groove Recordings)

DJs, submit your top 10 chart along with a photo and we’ll publish.

Ultra Music Festival Moving to Virginia Key

Ultra Music Festival 2014 rave girls

After getting kicked out of Miami’s Bayfront Park, where it had held court since 2001, Ultra Music Festival has been granted permission by Miami City Commissioners to relocate to Virginia Key Beach.

Despite protests from local residents and politicians including Key Biscayne Mayor Michael Davey, the commission voted 4-1 to allow Ultra to be held March 29-31, 2019 outside Marine Stadium and in Virginia Key Beach Park.

Previously, Rapture Electronic Music Festival had advertised its two-day 2019 edition over the same weekend on the same site. In response, Rapture organizers organized a No to Ultra petition the day before the hearing, to no avail.

While Commissioner Joe Carollo had argued vehemently for a flat $2 million payment, in the end Ultra promoters will pay the city of Miami $1.4 million to rent the key for the weekend. UMF also agreed to spend millions more on environmental safeguards and public safety. Continue Reading